

Special Session Wrap-up

November 29, 2023

HB23B-1003, Property Tax Task Force

Task Force Membership (Non-County)

- ❖ 2 Members of the House
- 2 Members of the Senate
- DOLA Property Tax Administrator
- 1 Mayor/City Council Member appointed by CML
- Executive Director of SDA
- * 1 Chief Financial Officer Appointed by Association of School Executives
- ❖ 1 Representative with experience with School Funding Policy/CO Educator
- 1 Person Representing CO Commercial/Residential Property Owners
- ❖ 1 Fire Chief appointed by CO State Fire Chiefs
- ❖ 1 Person Representing Low-Income, Seniors, Fixed In-come, or Residential Tenants
- * Executive Director of Statewide/Regional Business Organization

Task Force Membership (County)

- 1 County Assessor
 - appointed by Governor
- 1 County Commissioner from the Front Range
 - * appointed by President of the Senate
- **1** County Commissioner from the Mountain Region
 - * appointed by Speaker of the House
- 1 County Commissioner from the Eastern Region
 - * appointed by House Minority Leader
- ***** 1 County Commissioner from the Southern Region
 - * appointed by Senate Minority Leader
- ***** 1 County Commissioner from the Western Region
 - appointed by Governor

Timeline for the Task Force

- *December 4, 2023 Members are Appointed
- *December 18, 2023 through March 15, 2024
 - Two Monthly Meetings
- *March 15, 2024 Report & Recommendation

Due

SB23B-001, 2023 Property Tax Relief

New Timeline - SB23B-001

- **❖January 3, 2024** − Final certification by County Assessors of values to Local Governments.
- ❖January 10, 2024 Local Governments submit levies to Commissioners.
- ❖January 10, 2024 Adoption of Budget.
- ❖ January 17, 2024 Commissioners certify levies.
- ❖ January 24, 2024 Tax Roll delivered to Treasurer as soon as possible treasurer sends tax bills.

Assessment Rates and Value Reductions

Type of property		SB23B-001
Non- Residentail	Hotels, Motels, and B & Bs – lodging properties	Unchanged from SB22-238 27.9% Reduce first \$30,000 of actual value
	Renewable Energy Production	26.4%
	Agricultural Property	26.4%
	Commercial, Vacant, Industry	27.9% For improved commercial only: reduce first \$30,000 of actual value
	Oil and Gas	87.5%
Residential	Multi-Family	6.7% Reduce first \$55,000 of actual value
	Single Family	6.7% Reduce first \$55,000 of actual value

Backfill Formulas

❖ Backfill will be calculated based on both SB22-238 and SB23B-001

- ❖ SB22-238 backfill remains the same
- * All entities with a non-zero modified mill levy will receive backfill
- ❖ SB23B-001 backfill criteria is different
- Some entities will not receive backfill

Backfill Small Counties

- Counties with a population <=300,000
 - 1. SB22-238 backfill
 - a) increase in assessed value < 10% 100%
 - b) increase in assessed value 10% or greater 90%

Backfill Small Counties

- ❖ Counties with a population <=300,000
 - 2. SB23B-001 backfill
 - a) increase in assessed value < 10%

 OR ambulance, fire, health district

 100%
 - b) increase in assessed value between 10% and less than 15%

90%

c) increase in value 15% or over 0%

Backfill Large Counties

- Counties with a population > 300,000
 - 1. SB22-238 backfill
 - a) Municipality, Fire, Health Service, Water, Sanitation,
 - Library Districts
 - i. 100% if increase in assessed value <10%
 - ii. 90% if increase in assessed value $\geq 10\%$
 - b) All other local governments (including counties)
 - i. 65%

Backfill Large Counties

- ❖ Counties with a population > 300,000
 - 2. SB23B-001 backfill
 - a) Ambulance, Health, Fire Districts
 - i. 100% regardless of change in assessed value
 - b) Municipality, Library, Sanitation, Water Districts
 - i. 100% if increase in assessed value <10%
 - ii. 90% if increase in assessed value 10% and <15%
 - iii. 0% if increase is 15% or greater
 - b) All other local governments (including counties)
 - i. **65%** if increase <15%
 - ii. 0% if increase is 15% or greater

Backfill Any County

- Local Governments that provide fire protection services

 SB23B-001 backfill
 - * Amount equitable to that of a fire district

* Determined by the Property Tax Administrator and Executive Director of Department of Local Affairs